AVMA members elect Michael Whitehair to executive board

Whitehair defeated Billy Clay, DVM, in the election to succeed Ted Cohn, DVM, as AVMA District IX representative this August.
Jun 01, 2012
By dvm360.com staff

Dr. Michael Whitehair
Large animal veterinary practitioner Michael Whitehair, DVM, of Abilene, Kan., defeated Billy Clay, DVM, of Stillwater, Okla., in the election to succeed Ted Cohn, DVM, as AVMA District IX representative this August.

The Kansas Veterinary Medical Association (KVMA) nominated Whitehair and AVMA members in Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Utah elected him to the executive board.

Whitehair graduated from Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine in 1974 and is active in KSU's volunteer service. He has been a presenter for fourth-year students interested in food animal medicine at the college since 2006. Beef cattle and equine medicine are his clinical interests.

Whitehair is a former president of both the KVMA and the Academy of Veterinary Consultants. He also represented his home state in the AVMA House of Delegates from 1997-2011. During that time, Whitehair was elected to the House Advisory Committee and served a year as its chair.

AVMA must think strategically to help the veterinary profession overcome the challenges it faces, Whitehair says. "We as [board] members want to be part of the team that expands the role of veterinary medicine as an integral part of our global community," Whitehair said in a prepared statement. "This comes with a focus on good communication and a willingness to listen to member input. I appreciate the opportunity to serve in this capacity as a member of the AVMA's Executive Board."

Whitehair served on the committee that selected the AVMA executive vice president in 2007. Recently, he participated on the AVMA 20/20 Vision Commission and American Veterinary Medical Foundation Scholarship Committee for Rural Recent Graduates.

John Howe, DVM, of Grand Rapids, Minn., was elected to replace Clark Fobian, DVM, as the District VII board representative earlier this year. Howe and Whitehair will each serve six-year terms on the executive board.