Calif. inches closer to mandatory microchipping
Sacramento, Calif. — Microchipping pets is on the verge of becoming mandatory in California, if Gov. Jerry Brown signs legislation presented to him Aug. 30.
Senate Bill 702 would require all dogs and cats 4 months of age and older to wear a collar with an identification and license tag attached. If an animal is found at-large without identification, it can be seized by any peace officer. Owners would have to pay a fee to reclaim the pet. Under the new law, the animals also could not be released to their owners without first being microchipped. Existing California law prohibits shelters, humane societies and rescue groups from releasing any animals to a new owner that have not been spayed or neutered, unless there is a medical reason the animal cannot be sterilized.
Microchipping now will be added to animals sold or released by humane societies, rescue groups and shelters. If microchipping can't be performed at the facility where the animal was being kept, the owner must sign a release stating that they will present proof the animal was microchipped within 30 days.