Exotics vets name officers, set specialty exam


Exotics vets name officers, set specialty exam

Sep 26, 2009
By dvm360.com staff
Milwaukee, Wis. -- Cathy Johnson-Delaney, DVM, Dipl. ABVP (avian), of Kirkland, Wash., was elected to a second consecutive term as president of the Association of Exotic Mammal Veterinarians (AEMV) at the group's recent annual business meeting.

The meeting was held in combination with the annual continuing-education conferences for the AEMV and the Association of Avian Veterinarians (AAV).

The first exam seating for the new Diplomate certification, American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (ABVP)-Exotic Companion Mammal Practice, will be in November, with 11 of 26 applicants eligible to take the exam. Veterinarians interested in the ABVP certification process can find details on the ABVP's Web site. Two committees were formed, a strategic planning committee chaired by Dr. Lauren Powers of Huntersville, N.C., and a research committee headed by Dr. Joerg Mayer, clinical associate professor at Tufts' Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine.

Other officers elected were Rose Fiskett, VMD, Dipl. ABVP (avian), of Scotland, Pa., vice president and conference chair; Melissa King, DVM, of Macon, Ga., secretary; and Dan Johnson, DVM, of Raleigh, N.C., treasurer. Powers was recognized for her work as AEMV conference chair in 2008 and 2009. Dr. Angela Lennox, director of the Avian and Exotic Animal Clinic in Indianapolis, received the President's Award.

The AEMV will join the AAV again in 2010 for the annual scientific program and CE conference, which will be in San Diego.