Importation of four snake species banned from the United States

Mar 01, 2012

NATIONAL REPORT — U.S. officials banned the import of four snake species in an effort to protect the Everglades National Park in Florida. Burmese pythons, the yellow Anaconda and Northern and Southern African pythons will not be allowed into this country starting next month. Restrictions were mandated due to owner abandonment in ecologically sensitive areas.

Officials have been capturing more and more of these invasive snakes in recent years, including a 13-foot python.