MAF provides funding for 65 student studies


MAF provides funding for 65 student studies

May 31, 2009
By staff
Denver -- Sixty-five veterinary students will be able to participate in research projects in 2009, thanks to grants from the Morris Animal Foundation (MAF).

MAF's Veterinary Student Scholars program provides students with an opportunity to become involved in veterinary research that enhances the health and welfare of companion animals and wildlife, according to the foundation.

Grant recipients will receive a stipend to participate in a short-term clinical or basic veterinary research project.

Recipients of the small-animal and large-animal grants will present their research findings at MAF's annual meeting in Colorado on June 2010. Wildlife grant recipients will present their findings at the MAF wildlife advisory board meeting in February 2010. Students with the top three companion animal and top three wildlife presentations will receive cash rewards.

The 2009 award recipients are:
Auburn University: Meghan Kilgore, Christina Osborne, Taylor Towns, Marike Visser
Colorado State University: Chelsea Sonius, Chiahsin Sandy Young
Cornell University: Derek Calhoon, Ayeley Okine, Beulah Sherwood
Iowa State University: Mark Madsen
Kansas State University: Jennifer Darby, Michelle Hubin, Julia Paul
Michigan State University: Chelsea Anderson, Katherine Cummings, Christy Hencken, Dana Tedesco
Mississippi State University: Ryan Centini, Claire Fellman
North Carolina State University: Jenessa Gjeltema, Christina Howard, Chelsey Miller
Ohio State University: Sumeet Gupta, Melinda Himler, Christine Reggiardo
Oklahoma State University: Jeff Skaggs, Lindsey Starkey, Heather Wallace
Oregon State University: Courtney Smith
Purdue University: Lindsey Hedges, Peter Noel Tufts University: Mehnaz Aziz
Tuskegee University: Yolanda Markley
University of California-Davis: Yvonne Kline, Christina Terry
University of Florida: Johnattan Arango
University of Georgia: Cynthia Page, Andrew Quesada
University of Illinois: Kourtney Cone, Ashley Mitek, Zachary Neumann
University of Minnesota: Dionne Benson
University of Missouri: Rachael Cohen
University of Pennsylvania: Sana Ahmed, Lizette Durand, Angela Fusello, Alexandra O'Keefe
University of Tennessee: Laura Eberlein, Anna Keo
University of Wisconsin: Stephanie Salyer
Virginia Tech Maryland Regional: Jennifer Eberly, Kristen Flaggs
Western University of Health Sciences: Nicole Giguere, Gordon Hui, Gina Johnson, Anna Mills
Massey University (New Zealand): Janis Hooge
Murdoch University (Australia): Alex Tinson
National University of La Plata (Argentina): Jorge Diaz
Ross University (St. Kitts): Kirsten Thomas
Universidad de La Salle (Colombia): Viviana Gonzalez
Universidad Nacional Autonoma (Mexico): Claudia Guerrero
University of Prince Edward Island (Canada): Chelsie Estey
University of Calgary (Canada): Tracy Smith
Utrecht University (Netherlands): Sanne Hugen

Descriptions of the student projects can be found here by clicking on the "vet scholars" category.