Mandatory CE enacted in Connecticut, license fees increase
The new requirement is the result of a law signed by Connecticut Governor Jodi Rell in July. Before the signing of the new law Connecticut was in the minority of states that did not require CE. Now, only three states do not require CE.
In 2011, veterinarians whose birthdays fall after July 1, 2011, will need to provide proof that they’ve completed 24 CE credits when they apply for their license renewal, CVMA says. Those veterinarians with birthdays from January to June won’t need to meet the requirement until 2012.
Additionally, veterinary license fees (examination and renewal) will increase from $450 to $565, effective Oct. 1, 2009.