Texas law sets standards for pet breeders
Austin, Texas — Dog and cat breeders in Texas have new licensing requirements.
The law, which took effect in June, sets new rules for dog and cat breeders who own more than 11 intact females and plan to sell or transfer at least 20 animals per year.
The new law requires that all breeding facilities be inspected at least once every 18 months by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. The bill sets standards for exercise and space requirements. It also mandates that an undefined "reasonable amount of time" be given between female breeding cycles. Breeding animals must have at least one examination by a veterinarian each year, and breeders must provide "reasonable maintenance and preventive care." The bill also prohibits breeders from selling or transferring any animals younger than 8 weeks of age.